New mayor named in Sweetwater

McKenzie named Sweetwater mayor

SWEETWATER, Texas - The Sweetwater City Commission on Tuesday named Mayor Pro-tem Jim McKenzie as the city's new mayor.

McKenzie is taking over for Greg Wortham, who announced his resignation last week after serving as Sweetwater mayor since 2007.

McKenzie will hold the office until the next mayoral election in May of 2015.   

Wortham is stepping down to run for the District 28 seat in the Texas Senate. Robert Duncan recently resigned the state senate post to become chancellor of Texas Tech University.

Meanwhile, the commission appointed Jim Lee – a retired Sweetwater educator - to take McKenzie's Precinct 2 position on the commission.

Recent Headlines

Local Mugshots

Local News -