BROWNWOOD, Texas - The Department of Public Safety is enforcing the move over or slow down law in Texas. They hope to make it safer for emergency vehicles. This law has been around for a handful of years, but the DPS goes through enforcement periods to remind everyone to obey the law.
"You don't realize how big a vehicle is until you're standing beside it and it drives by you even at 30 miles an hour but when it drives close you wake up real quick," Assistant Chief of Police James Fuller said.
The law requires you to move over to the right as emergency vehicles tries to pass on the left or slow down 20 miles below the speed limit. This law applies to not only police cars, ambulance and fire trucks when their lights are on, but also Texas Department of Transportation vehicles and tow trucks when they have indicated that they are working.
"It is a courtesy as well as a law," District Manager of Allegiance Ambulance Jimmy Trowbridge said.
Violation of this law can result in up to $200 worth of fines. If there is property damage, the fines raise to up to $500, and if there is bodily injury then the charge rises up to $2,000 and possible confinement.
- Updated Police shoot 'active shooter' at Texas strip mall, 'several' taken to hospital
- Golfing great Arnold Palmer dead at 87
- Police find missing girl, make 3 arrests in triple California killing
- Murder-suicide suspected in deaths of Texas councilman, wife
- KTXS Forecast: Rain chances ending on this Monday