San Angelo

Embattled ex-San Angelo councilman files to seek seat he gave up

By Doug Myers & Veronica Soto/KTXS News

SAN ANGELO, Texas -- An ex-San Angelo city councilman who recently resigned amid controversy has filed to run to fill the vacancy created by his own resignation.

Bill Richardson is now the fourth candidate to file to fill the remaining two years of what would have been his District 1 term.

The election is May 6.

The San Angelo City Council accepted Richardson’s resignation on March 2, mere days after making racial comments about Hispanic police officers.

Richardson declined comment Friday when contacted by KTXS.

"He (Richardson) has every right to do this. Nothing in the law says he can't," San Angelo Mayor Dwain Morrison said. "It's now up to the voters."

Richardson came under fire for targeting the city’s Hispanic police officers on Facebook after police responded to an incident Feb. 18 between Richardson and his neighbor.

“I had an encounter with a ‘Hispanic’ SAPD officer after I called SAPD dispatch about a problem with a ‘Hispanic’ neighbor," Richardson's post said. "One of the officers who responded was ‘Hispanic.’ His attitude to me was disrespectful and I believed to be physically threatening.”

Richardson also asked “non-‘Hispanic’ citizens of San Angelo to keep a written record of their encounters with ‘Hispanic’ SAPD police officers.”

Representatives of the San Angelo Law Enforcement Spouses Association called for Richardson's resignation.

On Friday, when addressing Richardson's announcement, organization member Candace Francis said: "This will not happen and cannot happen. We do not support this in anyway."

Meanwhile, filings for the District 1 seat will continue through March 27. Others in the running include Tommy Hiebert, Anna Bartosh, and Darrin Fentress.

Voters on May 6 will also elect a mayor and representatives in the District 2, 4 and 6 seats. Winners in those races will serve four-year terms.

Those who filed include:

Mayor – Tony Villarreal, Brenda Gunter, Charlotte Farmer, Zach Taylor.

District 2 – Tom Thompson.

District 4 – Lucy Gonzales, Chris Giroux.

District 6 – Steve Hampton, Rebekah Coffman, Billie F. DeWitt.

KTXS will provide additional details as they become available.

Recent Headlines

Local Mugshots

Local News -