Senior center Andy Spears was named a first-team all-American Southwest Conference West Division selection to highlight four Hardin-Simmons players that were honored by the coaches of the ASC in their annual postseason awards.

Spears averaged 13.1 points and 8.6 rebounds per game in his senior campaign, while shooting over 60 percent from the floor. He was also named to the ASC West all-defensive team.

Junior Eric Taylor was named second-team all-ASC West. In his first year with the Cowboys, Taylor averaged 14 points and was second in the league with 121 assists.

Senior John Derr was named honorable mention all-ASC West. Derr averaged 11.1 points and 4.3 rebounds per contest and was second in the league with 68 made 3-pointers.

Senior Bernard Stiggers was named to the all-defensive team.

Dewayne Patterson of Concordia took top honors in the ASC West. He was named the MVP and also the newcomer of the year. Brian Todd of Mary Hardin-Baylor was named defensive player of the year, Christian Davis of Howard Payne was named the freshman of the year, Zakk Revelle of Sul Ross State was the sportsmanship athlete of the year and Ken DeWeese was named coach of the year.

Kyle Schleigh of Texas-Dallas was named the ASC East MVP and also headlined the All-ASC team that combined the top players in each division. He was joined by Kitrick Bell of UMHB, Patterson, Brandon Blake of Mississippi College and Thomas Orr of UMHB.




(Listed in order of voting point totals; # indicates tie in voting)

Kyle Schleigh                    F           Texas-Dallas                        Jr.             Houston, Texas (Kingwood HS)

Kitrick Bell                        W         Mary Hardin-Baylor           Jr.             Fort Bend, Texas (Marshall HS)

Dwayne Patterson          F           Concordia Texas                 Jr.             Long Beach, Calif. (Jacksonville JC)

Nick Haynes                     G          Concordia Texas                 Sr.            Irving, Texas (HIS)

Brandon Blake#               G          Mississippi College             Jr.             Oxford, Miss. (Spring Hill)

Thomas Orr#                    G          Mary Hardin-Baylor           Sr.            Hutto, Texas (HHS)



(Listed in order of voting point totals; #, &, % indicates tie in voting)

ASC West Division Player of the Year: Dwayne Patterson, F, Jr., Concordia Texas

ASC West Division Defensive Player of the Year: Brian Todd, G, Sr., Mary Hardin-Baylor

ASC West Division Freshman of the Year: Christian Davis, F, Howard Payne

ASC West Division Newcomer of the Year: Dwayne Patterson, F, Jr., Concordia Texas

ASC West Division Sportsmanship Athlete of the Year: Zakk Revelle, G, So., Sul Ross State