ABILENE, Texas -

Senior defensive lineman Undra Hendrix was named the defensive lineman of the year and freshman Jessie Ramos was named the co-Freshman of the Year to highlight 15 Hardin-Simmons players that were honored by the eight head coach in the American Southwest Conference in their yearly postseason awards.

Hendrix, a senior from Irving, led the ASC in sacks with 11 total (10 solo and two half-sacks) and in tackles for loss with 19. He was also named first-team all-ASC.

Ramos had a stellar initial campaign. He scored on a 96-yard kickoff return the first time he touched the ball in college and added a 100-yarder against Mississippi College. He had 969 all-purpose yards (62 rushing, 459 receiving and 448 kickoff return) and scored 10 touchdowns on just 44 touches this season.

The Cowboys had six players named to the all-ASC first team. Senior quarterback Logan Turner, who set the ASC record with 4.116 yards and 43 touchdowns, senior center Travis Sugar and kick returner Ramos were on the first-team offense. Hendrix and senior cornerback Jay Wise were first-team defense. Junior Punter Brandon Abbott was also named first-team.

Senior wide receiver Corey Jones, sophomore tight end Garret Schuchart, junior guard Wyatt Walton, senior tackle Brandon Mikolajczyk and senior running back Devin Carver were named to the second-team offense.  Junior linebacker Jonathan Petty was named to the second-team defense.

Sophomore wide receiver Trei Lewis and senior placekicker Scott Newberry were named honorable mention all-ASC.

Sul Ross State senior running back Dominique Carson who averaged 262 yards of all-purpose yards and scored 28 touchdowns was the offensive player of the year.

Senior linebacker Javicz Jones of Mary Hardin-Baylor was the defensive player of the year, who became the league’s all-time leading tackler this season, had 96 tackles, scored four defensive touchdowns, had six interceptions, forced and recovered two fumbles, added three sacks and knocked down 10 passes.  

Allen Cain, a senior kicker from Texas Lutheran, was named the special teams player of the year. He has 17 field goals, including a 59-yarder. He also had a league-best 29 touchbacks. 

UMHB guard Michael Coles was the offensive lineman of the year and Casey Davis of Texas Lutheran was named co-freshman of the year with Ramos. Dennis Dunn of Louisiana College and Pete Fredenburg of Mary Hardin-Baylor shared coach of the year honors.

Senior defensive Dustin Emery was HSU’s representative on the inaugural ASC Outstanding Sportsmen Team.



ASC Offensive Player of the Year: Dominique Carson, RB, Sr., Sul Ross State

ASC Defensive Player of the Year: Javicz Jones, LB, Sr., Mary Hardin-Baylor

ASC Special Teams Player of the Year: Allen Cain, PK, Sr., Texas Lutheran

ASC Offensive Lineman of the Year: Michael Coles, OG, Sr., Mary Hardin-Baylor

ASC Defensive Lineman of the Year: Undra Hendrix, DL, Sr., Hardin-Simmons

ASC Co-Freshmen of the Year: Casey Davis, WR, Texas Lutheran; Jessie Ramos, RET, Hardin-Simmons

ASC Co-Coaches of the Year: Dennis Dunn, Louisiana College; Pete Fredenburg, Mary Hardin-Baylor


ASC Outstanding Sportsmen Team of the Year:

Collin Bieschke, DB, Sr., East Texas Baptist

Dustin Emery, DL, Sr., Hardin-Simmons

J.D. King, LB, Sr., Howard Payne