SALEM, Va. -

Hardin-Simmons women’s basketball player Alexis Popelar has been named one of 11 finalists for the 2013 Josten’s Trophy, which is awarded to an outstanding Division III men’s and women’s basketball player who excels on the floor, in the classroom and in the community.

The Rotary Club of Salem, Va., has narrowed the list of candidates down to 11 finalists and the winner will be announced March 15 with the winner be presented the award in Salem on Thursday, March 21 as part of the Men’s Division III quarterfinals and semifinals. A men’s and women’s winner will be named.

Popelar is the third Cowgirl to be named a Josten’s finalist joining Kendra Anderson (2002, 2003) and Lauren Harris (2004).

Popelar led the Cowgirls in scoring at 18.3 points per game and also led the team in rebounding at 8.2 per contest. She set an HSU record for rebounding by a perimeter player. She was named first-team all-ASC and all-ASC West and was the ASC West player of the week four times.

Women's finalists

Sarah Bingea, UW-Eau Claire

Sarah Collins, Babson

Kate Dellinger, Widener

Katelyn Fischer, Marymount

Rosa LaMattina, Mount Union

Allison Long, Thomas More

Kate Nielsen, Simpson

Alexis Popelar, Hardin-Simmons

Connie Urmanski, UW-Superior

Carissa Verkaik, Calvin

Jill Woerner, Catholic


Men's finalists

Sean Dart, Willamette

John DiBartolomeo, Rochester

Keven Donohue, Union

Colton Hunt, Randolph

Chris Kearney, Catholic

Taylor Koth, Ripon

Michael Mayer, Williams