College Sports

ACU VB: Johnson, Oxford, Siemens Honored At Conference Banquet

SAN ANGELO, Texas - The Abilene Christian volleyball program extended a pair of award winning streaks Wednesday night at the annual Lone Star Conference banquet as Caley Johnson earned the program's second consecutive Academic Player of the Year honor, while Sarah Siemens became the third straight Wildcat named Freshman of the Year.

Sophomore Sara Oxford, last year's LSC Freshman of the Year, also was recognized tonight with a spot on her second all-conference second team. A middle blocker from Decatur, Texas, Oxford finished the regular season ranked among the national and conference leaders in points (135, 3.64 per set) and kills (122, 3.18 per set) and was second on the Wildcats with 50 blocks (0.54).

A three-time LSC setter of the week and 2012 honorable mention, Siemens enters the postseason tournament ranked 29th in the NCAA D-II with 10.57 assists per set, and just this past weekend she eclipsed the 1,000-assist mark during a 3-1 win at Cameron.
With 1,089 assists this season, Siemens passed Kayla Fisher's career total of 1,074 Saturday at Midwestern State and now ranks 10th among ACU's all-time leaders. She also matched a career high  with six kills against the Mustangs.

In addition to Oxford, ACU's long list of conference freshmen of the year includes Neely Borger (2010), Lauren Leone (2005), Lindsay DeHoff (1998), Angela Cooper (1994), Cary Stengler (1988) and Sharyn Renner (1984). ACU is the only Lone Star Conference school to win this award over three consecutive seasons.

Johnson, a junior accounting major with a 4.0 grade-point average, was the Wildcats' lone selection to the conference all-academic team, but is the fifth individual in team history to be voted LSC Academic Player of the Year.
Former Wildcat and current head coach Kellen Mock was the first ACU player to receive this honor in 2004. Following her were Lindsey Martin and Abbie Lowry in 2005 and 2006, and Jennie Hutt in 2011.

Johnson was recently named First Team Capital One Academic All District 6 and is eligible to receive the distinction of Academic All-America. The La Vista, Neb., native, also made the Capital One Academic All-District second team in 2011 and later was tabbed to the Lone Star Conference's all-academic team and commissioner's honor roll.
Johnson has been named to ACU's Dean's List on four occasions and is a recipient of the school's Chancellor's Award for Academic Excellence.

Johnson began her ACU career as a setter, but transitioned into the role of a defensive specialist at the start of 2012. She has appeared in all but one match this season and has contributed 208 digs, 23 assists and four service aces.  

The Wildcats begin Lone Star Conference Championship play Thursday at 2:30 p.m. at San Angelo's Stephens' Arena vs. No. 2 seed West Texas A&M. All tournament matches will be streamed live via free of charge.

Information for this story provided by ACU Sports Information.

Recent Headlines

Local Mugshots

Local News -