College Sports

HSU Hosted Cowboy Classic At Texas Star

EULESS, Texas - Hardin-Simmons University hosted the second annual Cowboy Classic on Friday at the Texas Star Golf Club in Euless.

The team of Stuart, Austin and David Prior along with Jeff Allen won the event with a 14-under par score of 57. They won by two strokes over Don Craig, Fritz Barton, Jaye Helm and Greg Dowdy. That team won a scorecard playoff over Armando Caldaron, Mike Whitehorn, Chris Scheetz and Tye Sisan.

The event was followed up with a luncheon and the 48 golfers were joined by several other Metroplex area HSU supporters who made their way over for lunch.

"We had another successful tournament," said HSU head coach Bart Craig. "We want to continue to see this tournament grow. It is a good chance for HSU supporters to come out and meet some of our current players and coaches and reunite with some old friends."


57 - Stuart Prior, Austin Prior, Jeff Allen, David Prior

*59 - Don Craig, Fritz Barton, Jaye Helm, Greg Dowdy

59 - Armando Caldaron, Mike Whitehorn, Chris Scheetz, Tye Sisan

60 - Drue Pounds, Moran Pounds, David Pounds, Tompie Hall

60 - Truman Turk, Tim Turk, Stan Allcorn, Wayne Gray

61 - Tom Cheek, Ed Cheek, Jordan Maxwell, Preston Godfrey

61 - Ogden Compton, Rodney Williams, Wayne Adams, Riley Cross, Brandon Heard

62 - Gene Adams, Eric Allen, Todd Wentz, Craig Berry

62 - Mike Malone, Charles Ballard, Tim Bennie, Harold Preston

64 - Daniel Neese, David Morris, Dan Woodard, Larry Moss

65 - Bill Fischer, Patrick Hall, Mel Thomas

66 - Jerry Dean, Scott Regan, David Randolph, Karl Stumpf


Long Drive Winners

Preston Godfrey (2)


Closest To The Pin Award Winners

Truman Turk

Brandon Heard

Dr. Michael Whitehorn

Patrick Hall

Information for this story provided by HSU Sports Information.

Recent Headlines

Local Mugshots

Local News -