College Sports

McMurry homecoming 5K results

ABILENE, Texas - Cory Higgins, former Eula and Texas Tech runner, won the 35th annual McMurry 5000 on Saturday with a course record of 15:53, breaking the previous course record of 16:20 set by Todd Neer in 2009.  McMurry senior Kurstin Draper won the women's division with a 20:24.  Other top finishers were men Michael Dowd (16:24) and Evan Sperling (16:58) and women Ashleigh Rabidean (21:19) and Sarah Crawford (21:58).

The annual McMurry University roadrace, co-sponsored by the Kinesiology Klub and the university's Cross Country and Track teams, had 114 finishers in cold, but calm and dry weather.  Awards were given in eighteen age groups  with Higgins, Draper and Sperling claiming course age group records for their performances.

Complete results availiable on

Information provided by McMurry athletics department.

Recent Headlines

Local Mugshots

Local News -