ABILENE, Texas — -

Texas-Tyler won both the men’s and women’s American Southwest Conference Championship on Saturday at Sherrod Park in Abilene.

The men easily outdistanced second-place LeTourneau 22-82. It was the fourth straight ASC title and eight overall for the Patriots. Nicklas Huff won his second consecutive ASC individual title with a time of 26:43 on a hilly 8K course.

The Patriots had five of the top seven finishers in the event. Head coach Bob Hepler was named the ASC coach of the year and the University of the Ozarks’ Ryan Holt finished 26:49 and earned freshman of the year honors. Brenton Heble of Texas-Dallas won the newcomer of the year award. J.P. Harris of Texas-Dallas earned the ASC Sportsmanship award.


Texas-Dallas was third with a 116, East Texas Baptist was fourth 122, Concordia was fifth with a total of 128 and the University of the Ozarks was sixth with a 184 total.  

The Texas-Tyler women won their second ASC title. The Patriots’ Carly Kitts won the individual race with a time of 23:29. Megan Wagenaar was second with a time of 24:22.

The Patriots had 29 points and Concordia finished second with 56 points. Texas-Dallas was third with a 106, LeTourneau was fourth with 144. East Texas Baptist is fifth with a 160, Louisiana College was sixth with 173 and the University of the Ozarks was seventh with a score of 243.

Grant Spencer of Texas-Tyler was named the ASC coach of the year, Kitts was the newcomer of the year and Hardin-Simmons’ Victoria Cortes was the freshman of the year. Madison Kaufman of East Texas Baptist and Caitlin Rowlette of Concordia were named the co-ASC Sportsmanship award winners. 

The NCAA regional is Nov. 16 at Christopher Newport University in Virginia.  

2013 American Southwest Conference Men’s Cross Country Award Winners

All-ASC First Team

Conner Benson, Texas-Tyler

Derek Blain, Texas-Tyler

Jason Hamilton , Texas-Tyler

Ryan Holt, Ozarks

Nicklas Huff, Texas-Tyler

Ford Noack, Texas-Tyler

Landon Price, East Texas Baptist


All-ASC Second Team

Brady Adger, Texas-Tyler

Brenton Heble, Texas-Dallas

Taber Miyahauchi, LeTourneau

Ceasar Rodriguez, Texas-Tyler

Clay Smith, Hardin-Simmons