ABILENE, Texas -

Texas-Tyler won its first American Southwest Conference men’s track and field title on Saturday at Hardin-Simmons University.

The Patriots built a big lead on Friday with a strong showing in distance and throwing events and those two specialties again were strong on Saturday for the Patriots. UTT scored 240 points and easily outpaced Concordia (131) and Hardin-Simmons (113). Mississippi College had 70 points and Sul Ross State scored 54 points.

Demarcus Speight of Mississippi College won the 100 with a time of 11.03. Richard Snyder of Sul Ross State won the 200 with a time of 21.92 and also added a gold in the 400 meters with a 49.12.

UTT’s Ford Noack won the 800 with a time of 1:55.08 and Nicklas Huff won his second event of the weekend with a 4:00.91 1,500 meters. Connor Benson of UTT won the 5000 in 16:40.37 and the Patriots had the five top runners in the event.

Derek Footer won a pair of titles in the hurdles. He won the 110 hurdles with a 15.33 and won the 400 hurdles in 55.87.

Mississippi College won the 4x100 relay with a 42.32 and Concordia won the mile relay with a 3:22.43.

Zeth Barron won the men’s pole vault with a 13-3 ½ and Edward Johnson of MC won the long jump with a 21-2.

Buck Thompson of UTT won the shot put with a 53-7 and added the discus title with a 171-8. He won the hammer throw on Friday.

On Friday, in the 10,000 Wilson Alexander and Conner Benson finished 1-2 and the Patriots scored with fourth and fifth place finishes as well. Alexander won with a 36:05.88.

In the 3000 steeplechase Nicklas Huff won with a 10:21.56 and the Patriots won first, second, third and sixth.

Matt Denman of Concordia won the high jump with a 6-0 jump and Justin Gonzalez of Concordia won the triple jump with a 45-3 ½.

Buck Thompson of UT-Tyler won the hammer with a 143-4. Ed Palencia had a javelin throw of 211-10 to set a new career high.



Coach of the Year- Bob Helper, Texas-Tyler

Outstanding Track Athlete of the Year- Nick Huff, Texas-Tyler

Outstanding Field Athlete of the Year- Justin Gray, Hardin-Simmons

Oustanding Freshmen Co-Athlete of the Year- Justin Gonzalez, Sul Ross State and Richard Snyder, Concordia

High Point Athlete of the Year -  Buck Thompson, Texas-Tyler

Sportsmanship Athlete of the Year - Lee Caruthers, Sul Ross State


All event winners and/or the following people who scored at least 14 points in the meet are named All-ASC. 

Conner Benson, UTT

Shane Brogdon, MC

Travis Crafton, UTT